top of page
Search
  • francesdarwin

Artist Spotlight: Abigail Engel

18-year-old Abigail Engel of Camas, Washington, joined the Henna Heals database last summer and answered our call to be featured in BuzzFeed. Here is her experience, in her words:

When did you become passionate about henna?

I’ve always been very artistic, and when I was 13 years old while painting one day I for whatever reason started to paint my hand. My mom’s best friend was over and she said it looked like a henna tattoo – so we went and bought some for me to try. I did henna for fun on my friends and myself for a while, and in the years following as I got better people suggested I make money off of the talent. So I would say I became truly passionate about henna at 16 years old, when I decided to do it at fairs and markets nearby in order to fund a service trip I went on to Cambodia.

How did you hear about Henna crowns? What did you think about them?

I heard about henna crowns through Henna Heals. Two friends in one week that knew I did henna tagged me in an article they shared about Henna Heals on Facebook. I first read the article, visited the website, and decided it was too complicated for me as a seventeen year old. But when the second person tagged me in the article saying it was right up my alley, I decided to look into it further, and eventually became part of the database.

I thought henna crowns were absolutely beautiful and so creative. I never would have thought of such an idea. I knew it was something I would love to do one day – but never imagined that day would come so soon! I think it is amazing to use one’s talent to help others in such a unique and inspiring way.

When did you do your first henna crown?

I did my first henna crown for a young woman with Alopecia in October 2014. I had recently had my senior pictures taken by Jessica Daniels of Jessica Daniels Photography, and when I told her about the appointment she offered to voluntarily photograph it and practice her videography. None of the recognition I have received would have been possible if it weren’t for her.

How did getting profiled in Buzzfeed help you or your business?

On a personal level, it has boosted my confidence about my henna skill tremendously. I am only eighteen, so I doubt my capabilities being compared to so many professional artists in the henna world, who have so much more experience than I do. The recognition after being profiled in Buzzfeed was so unexpected – HLN contacted Jessica Daniels and they wrote an article about Henna Heals, more specifically about the appointment she photographed. They published a small gallery of Jessica’s pictures along with their article. I am also meeting next week with a reporter from the local county newspaper who will publish a story on my experience with Henna Heals. I’m hoping that will help get the word out in my community about what I do, allowing me to make more appointments. And of course the direct recognition from family, friends, and people from my school and community has been very supportive and encouraging. It encouraged me to create a website to make my contact information more accessible.

What is one thing you've learned from doing henna crowns?

If I’ve learned anything, it’s that everybody struggles with something – and everybody has their own beautiful story to tell. It’s important that we remember we were each made with beauty, strength, wonder, light, and love.. It's all there. Sometimes we just have to forget about the little things - be ourselves, and stop hiding - in order to find them.

You were recently featured in a local TV broadcast, showcasing your henna work. Can you tell us more about how that happened?

I am giving free henna crowns for my senior project until April, and in order to get the word out I thought I would reach out to my local newspapers. The Clark County newspaper "The Columbian" interviewed me and published a full page story on my project as well as Madison's henna crown appointment and her experience living with Alopecia. That afternoon I was contacted by KGW news who Madison and I met with the following morning at my high school. After that interview I was informed that KATU news were on their way to do their own interview. Both stations broadcasted the story that afternoon. The story online posted by KATU went viral on Facebook and that was so surreal. I had people all over Washington and Oregon recognizing my work and Henna Heals! So getting the word out in my community became a huge success to say the least, and I was contacted by many individuals under various circumstances for henna crowns or tattoos. It was so exciting knowing I was informing more people about Henna Heals and what we do.

Do you have any tips for approaching the media?

Don't be afraid to initiate contact. I sent in news tips about my project and Henna Heals to various newspapers in my area and though only one responded, it had a ripple effect making it on to two news stations and going viral on social media. Henna Heals is a very unique organization and it is easy to see why it has been attracting the attention it has lately. We as henna artists use our artistic capabilities to empower others - it's a win win situation - while learning more about people of all ages and their life stories. I will continue to advertise Henna Heals because I believe the non-profit deserves more recognition, and because there are so many individuals out there who can benefit from what we do. Also, if you are interviewed be sure to put emphasis on the fact that Henna Heals artists give henna crowns to those experiencing hair loss, not only those undergoing cancer treatment. It is a common misconception that we promote henna crowns as a way of empowering those who are sick; however my first henna crown was for a young woman with Alopecia and she simply lacked self-confidence.

Anything else?

I am very grateful to have become a member of Henna Heals and incorporate empowering others with my love for henna. Henna Heals has been nothing but a positive experience so far that just keeps getting better and better. It is exactly what I knew I wanted to do since I was a little girl: take whatever I am passionate about and use it in a way that changes lives for the better.

3 views0 comments
bottom of page